Experimenting with Techniques – Schizophrenia and Hallucinations – Judge Olie

Judge Olie is one of my main characters and according to the script he has schizophrenia and also experiences hallucinations. I made some sketches of him without his wig and job’s suit. He is generally bolt with some black hair on the very top of his head. In my short animation I will present him in his night dress, wearing his glasses and holding an oil lamp maybe walking in his house, where his disorder kicks in.

16559185_1522745754421784_979027506_n.png

These are some experimental drawings done with a very tiny black marker using just one or two lines for the whole figure. I really like this technique, one I have used a lot in my bachelor’s projects that basically gives an energetic and messy tone to the drawing. The same was done for the background. After I was done with the drawing I decided to crop the drawing into a few parts, trying to altering the relationship of the figure and the background. I was trying to pass on the feeling, from my perspective, where one who experiences hallucinations becomes unsure about his surroundings and self as well. I like the results of this technique, however I want to find a way to make clearer indications of the character’s characteristics like the ones I have shown in the prototype drawings.

Playing and experimenting by swiping the parts around I came up with a series of drawings that from my perspective could be very potential to produce movement if combined together.

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 12.18.26.png

At the end of this experiment, I decided to take four of those pictures and recorded them with my phone by swapping from one to another. The result was to get a slight sense or feeling of movement , whereas you can see a brief light come and go in each swapping. This brief light was not intended, however as a happy accident it serves well to give an extra sense of this event. This was done very rough, however it looks very potential and I will continue to investigate this technique and come up with something good.

 

One thought on “Experimenting with Techniques – Schizophrenia and Hallucinations – Judge Olie

Leave a Reply

