Experimenting in potential techniques, styles and ideas – Judge Olie – Hallucinations and Schizophrenia

After doing the storyboard of the first part of my short animation I though it was time to start making ideas of the second part where I introduce to the audience the rest of the characters and their conditions. Judge Ollie is one of my main characters suffering from schizophrenia and hallucinations. The opening scene starts from a close up in Ollie’s head for some seconds and then his condition starts to kick in.

hallucinated-ollie

The eyes below represent the final stage of the transaction between reality and hallucinations. Influenced by personal experience, I have tried to make a visual representation of the sensation you have in the eyes when you are hallucinating. This is not a representation of the eyesight but the eyes themselves.

hallucinated-eyes

Next, by taking shots in different angles and perspectives and combining the drawings above together, I have made the video below. The idea is to represent the transaction between reality and hallucinations, to capture the very moment when my character jumps into the hallucinating world. I have also use some filters on the video to represent the eyesight, which as it looks in the video is blurry and dizzy. I have attached the theme music of Jaws into my video just to give an idea of the style of music that I would like to have, which is intensity and terror.

Leave a Reply

